Life Science Solutions

博客文章

利用显微镜相机实现荧光最佳成像效果的方法

作者  -
荧光成像

荧光成像需要维持一个微妙的平衡。一方面,您需要采集足够强的信号,这可以通过延长曝光时间或增强激发光实现。另一方面,您需要通过缩短激发时间和降低激发光强度来最大限度降低样品条件下的光毒性。

探索如何利用显微镜相机实现这一平衡的最佳方法。

1.使用直方图。

直方图可以帮助您确定理想的曝光时间。简而言之,直方图就是反映信号强度分布的图。直方图的X轴代表信号强度。数据分布范围为零到相机最大信号强度。每个X值对应的直方图高度代表了该信号强度下的像素数量,如下图1所示。

显微镜相机直方图

图1:图像的直方图。(a)原始图像,(b)原始图像中每个像素的信号强度,(c)根据原始图像得到的直方图

直方图的形状和分布可以帮助我们判断当前的曝光时间是否合适。在大多数荧光成像情况下,多数像素为没有信号的深色背景,这会导致直方分布图在背景强度附近出现峰值。

如果直方图过于集中于低信号区域,则说明曝光时间太短(图2,中)。如果其在最大信号处出现陡壁,则说明信号值已达到饱和(图2,右)。这种情况下,可以降低激发光强度或缩短曝光时间。

显微镜相机直方图

图2:正常曝光(左),曝光不足(中)和在黄色标记处曝光过度(右)的直方图。

2.让显示动态范围与数据动态范围匹配。

某些图像采集软件具有自动显示调整功能,这种功能能够在不改变原始图像数据的前提下获得更好的可见度,这同时也反映了信号强度和显示亮度之间的联系。

让显示动态范围与数据动态范围(从背景强度到最亮信号的范围)相匹配,就可以在不改变原始图像数据的条件下让图像获得更好的展示效果(图3,右侧)。而使用直方图可以更方便地解释这一调整方法。

显微镜相机动态范围

图3:显示调节。(a)原始设置。显示信号的亮度比显示动态范围(255)暗得多。(b)调整显示条件。

我们已经介绍了一些有用的显微镜相机使用技巧和方法,现在让我们实际操作一下。在下一节中,我们将简要介绍一个可以帮助您设定荧光成像图像采集最佳条件的简单分步工作流程。

设置显微镜相机采集参数的六个步骤

这里我们总结了为荧光成像实验设置显微镜相机的六个常用步骤。需要注意的是,最佳操作步骤取决于您的具体应用和样品。

  1. 确定观察倍率。
  2. 调整标本的对焦,找到待测区域。建议进行自动显示调节。在您不观看实时图像或拍照时,请始终关闭荧光光闸。
  3. 设定用于图像采集的相机参数(如,分辨率、曝光时间)。
  4. 尝试使用尽可能弱的激发光并延长曝光时间,直到信号高于背景噪声为止。
  5. 如果曝光时间过长,则逐步增强激发光。
  6. 检查直方图确认信号没有过饱和。

请注意,这只是最佳做法的简要说明。有关数字成像的更多详细介绍,请参阅我们的白皮书《了解数字成像数据和生物标本之间的关联》

进行荧光成像时要时刻考虑您的样品和应用

图像采集的最佳设置最终取决于您的样品和应用。如果样品容易受损,则可能需要使用尽可能弱的激发。另外,在需要采集快速现象时,使用较短的曝光时间和相对较强的激发光可能效果最好。无论哪种方式,直方图和显示调整都可以帮助您确定理想的采集条件。

相关内容

荧光活细胞成像的6个技巧

了解数字成像数据与生物样本之间的关联

显微镜数字成像:常见问题解答

高级产品和策略规划师和产品经理

Takeo Ogama是美洲奥林巴斯公司的高级产品和战略规划师,也是显微镜相机的产品经理。他在相机等各种产品的研发部门拥有八年的工作经验,并且在产品规划、营销和管理方面也拥有八年的经验。他拥有日本大阪大学中微子物理学硕士学位。

2020年4月27日
Sorry, this page is not available in your country
InSight Blog Sign-up

By clicking subscribe you are agreeing to our privacy policy which can be found here.

对不起,此内容在您的国家不适用。

本网站使用Cookies文件提高网站性能、分析访客情况,同时用于广告相关考量。如您未更改网络设置,本Cookies将始终用于本网站。如需了解本网站更多Cookies使用信息,以及如何限制我们使用这些功能,请查看我们的Cookies条款页面

'接受条款

Life Science Solutions

博客文章

Microscope Camera Best Practices for Fluorescence Imaging

By  -
Fluorescence imaging

Fluorescence imaging requires a delicate balancing act. On one hand, you need to acquire a high enough signal, which you can achieve by using a longer exposure time or stronger excitation light. On the other hand, you need to minimize phototoxicity for the sample condition by reducing the excitation time and intensity.

Discover how to strike that balance with these microscope camera best practices.

1. Use a histogram.

A histogram can help you determine the ideal exposure time. Simply put, the histogram is a plot that indicates the distribution of signal level. The X axis of the histogram is signal intensity. The data distributes from zero to the maximum signal level of the camera. The height of the histogram at each X value shows the number of pixels for the signal intensity, as shown in Figure 1 below.

Microscope camera histogram

Figure 1: A histogram of an image. (a) Original image, (b) signal intensity of each pixel shown in the original image, (c) a histogram created based on the original image.

The shape and distribution of the histogram tell us if the current exposure time is appropriate. In the majority of fluorescence imaging cases, most pixels are dark background without signals, which leads to a peak around the background level.

If the histogram is too crowded in a low signal range, then the exposure time is too short (Figure 2, middle). If there is a sharp cliff at the maximum signal level, then the signal value is saturated (Figure 2, right). In this case, you can reduce the excitation intensity or shorten the exposure time.

Microscope camera histogram

Figure 2: A histogram at normal exposure (left), under exposure (middle), and over exposure with saturation at the yellow marker (right).

2. Match the display dynamic range to the data dynamic range.

Some image acquisition software have an automated display adjustment feature that provides better visibility and maintains the original image data, all while defining the link between signal intensity and the display brightness.

Matching the display dynamic range to the data dynamic range (the range from background level to the brightest signal) enables you to get better visibility while maintaining the original image data (Figure 3, right). A histogram helps to illustrate this adjustment.

Microscope camera dynamic range

Figure 3: Display adjustment. (a) Original setting. The displayed signal brightness is much dimmer than the display dynamic range (255). (b) Display condition adjusted.

Now that we’ve covered some helpful microscope camera tips and tools, let’s put them into practice. Our next section outlines a simple step-by-step workflow that can help you set the most appropriate image acquisition settings for fluorescence imaging.

6 Steps to Set Up a Microscope Camera’s Acquisition Parameters

Here are six general steps to properly set up a microscope camera for a fluorescence imaging experiment. Please note that the best procedure depends on your specific application and samples.

  1. Determine the observation magnification.
  2. Adjust the focus on your sample and find the observation target. Auto display adjustment is recommended. Always close the fluorescence shutter whenever you’re not observing a live image or taking a picture.
  3. Set the camera setting for image acquisition (e.g., resolution, exposure time).
  4. Try the gentlest excitation light intensity and lengthen the exposure time until you get the signal higher than the background noise.
  5. If the exposure time is unpractically long, try a slightly stronger excitation step by step.
  6. Check the histogram to confirm there is no saturation.

Keep in mind that this is a brief list of best practices. For more detailed instructions on digital imaging, be sure to check out our white paper, Understanding the Link Between Digital Image Data and Biological Samples.

Always Consider Your Sample and Application for Fluorescence Imaging

The best image acquisition setting ultimately depends on your sample and application. If your sample is delicate, you might need to use gentle excitation. On the other hand, applying shorter exposure with relatively strong excitation might work best when you need to capture fast phenomena. Either way, the histogram and display adjustment can help you determine the ideal acquisition condition.

Related Content

6 Tips for Fluorescence Live Cell Imaging

Understanding the Link Between Digital Image Data and Biological Samples

Digital Imaging in Microscopy: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Senior Product and Strategy Planner and Product Manager

Takeo Ogama is a senior product and strategy planner and a product manager for microscope cameras at Olympus Corporation of the Americas. He has eight years of experience working in the research and development department for various products, including cameras, and eight years of product planning, marketing, and management experience. He holds a master’s degree in neutrino physics from Osaka University in Japan.

2020年4月27日
InSight Blog Sign-up

By clicking subscribe you are agreeing to our privacy policy which can be found here.

对不起,此内容在您的国家不适用。

This site uses cookies to enhance performance, analyze traffic, and for ads measurement purposes. If you do not change your web settings, cookies will continue to be used on this website. To learn more about how we use cookies on this website, and how you can restrict our use of cookies, please review our Cookie Policy.

OK