Life Science Solutions

奥林巴斯超分辨率和转盘技术如何实现快速、深层和可靠的活细胞超分辨率成像

引言

在发现荧光蛋白之后的几十年中,活细胞成像已成为生命科学研究领域研究组织和细胞内部细胞内功能必不可少的工具。如今,各种超分辨率显微镜技术正在让荧光成像不断推进。由于具备观察小于200 nm(nm = 10 -9 m)精细结构的能力,这是常规光学显微镜无法获得的成像能力,超分辨率成像作为生命科学领域革命性工具吸引了人们的注意。然而,时间分辨率和光毒性问题让超分辨率显微镜技术在活细胞成像的应用受到限制。另外,由于包括估计或空间频移在内的图像处理会形成破坏结果的伪像,成像数据可靠性(量化性能)也是一个重要问题。1

为此,奥林巴斯为活细胞超分辨率成像开发出超分辨率IXplore SpinSR系统。该系统采用超分辨率组件并具备共聚焦荧光显微镜的光学切片能力。IXplore SpinSR系统可同时实现传统方法无法做到的高可靠性、快速图像采集、低光毒性和深层组织观察。我们的奥林巴斯超分辨率(OSR)技术让数据可靠性获得保障。我们基于光学理论的OSR处理算法能够获得120 nm的空间分辨率,在衍射极限以下能够提供高度可靠的结果。使用转盘共聚焦显微镜技术还可实现快速图像采集。使用超分辨率SoRa转盘技术2,光毒性也可降低至传统技术的30%。使用硅油浸没物镜3和共聚焦显微镜的光学切片功能还可实现深层组织观察。

本文将解释奥林巴斯超分辨率(OSR)技术背后的原理以及IXplore SpinSR系统的光学设计。
 

什么是超分辨率?

荧光显微镜(δr )的空间分辨率被定义为两个小点之间的最小可分辨间距。根据瑞利准则,该分辨率用公式1表示。

公式1

公式1

分辨率δr 可从成像平面上单个荧光点形成的强度分布中获得。该强度分布称为点扩散函数(PSF)。如图1所示,如果两点之间的距离小于瑞利标准 δr ,则无法将两个点分开识别。当距离等于瑞利标准时,两点之间的强度最多降低26%。

点扩散函数的扩散取决于截止频率,并且彼此紧密联系。截止频率的增加导致空间分辨率值降低。荧光显微镜的截止频率ƒc_wf 如公式2所示。

公式2

公式2

发射强度分布的空间频率信息受到截止频率限制 ƒc_wf  并传递到成像平面。因此,截止频率 ƒc_wf  的倒数为可观察结构尺寸的理论极限。超出公式2中由截止频率 ƒc_wf  确定分辨率的显微镜技术被归类为超分辨率显微镜。

共聚焦荧光显微镜的理论截止频率为宽视场显微镜两倍ƒc_wf,因而获得两倍于理论分辨率极限的超分辨率。但是,由于高频信号较弱,因此实际分辨率通常与宽视场荧光显微镜的分辨率相同。虽然通过缩小针孔可以提高分辨率,但截止频率附近的信号强度仍然很低。因此,共聚焦荧光显微镜不能作为超分辨率显微镜使用。

图1.两点分辨率示意图

图1. 两点分辨率示意图。
 

转盘共聚焦荧光显微镜

IXplore SpinSR系统通过尽可能利用共聚焦荧光截止频率附近的信息,实现宽视场荧光显微镜的两倍分辨率。利用转盘配置荧光显微镜,还可实现高达200 fps的高速成像。

在共聚焦荧光显微镜中,使用激发光点照亮样品产生的发射荧光在到达检测器之前先要经过针孔。在通过二维扫描扫描激发光点的同时,对检测到荧光信号的空间分布进行成像。共聚焦荧光显微镜由于在z轴上具有光学切片能力,因此被普遍用作获取荧光信号三维空间分布的工具。

转盘共聚焦显微镜可同时照射多个激发光点,并且以并行方式检测每个点产生的荧光。转盘共聚焦扫描激发点,同时中间成像平面上的相应针孔减少了离焦荧光。然后通过相机检测荧光信号的空间分布(图2)。如图2针孔阵列方案所示,共聚焦转盘上针孔之间的距离大到足以防止针孔之间的信号串扰。

IXplore SpinSR系统的检测灵敏度通过科研级互补金属-氧化物-半导体芯片(sCMOS)技术获得提升。sCMOS相机的量子效率比共聚焦显微镜中普遍使用的光电倍增管更高。因此,IXplore SpinSR系统的sCMOS图像传感器所采集的图像具有比光电倍增管更高的信噪比(SNR)。使用超分辨率SoRa转盘可以大大减少共聚焦针孔的检测损失,并且可以用相比传统方法的三倍亮度检测荧光,从而降低了光毒性。(参见附录。)

图2.转盘共聚焦显微镜的光学系统示意图。(a)完整结构

图2. 转盘共聚焦显微镜的光学系统示意图。共聚焦转盘设置在中间成像平面上。当激发光照射在蓝色圆形部分上时,转盘绕其中心轴旋转。右图显示为用于样品照明的针孔阵列。针孔之间的距离大到足以确保同时扫描很多激发点而不会产生干扰。
 

奥林巴斯超分辨率(OSR)理论

通过优化针孔尺寸,IXplore SpinSR系统将空间频率的检测效率提高到宽视场荧光显微镜截止频率的两倍。通过对所捕捉的图像进行OSR处理获得超分辨率图像。OSR是一种可放大或衰减图像中特定空间频率分量的滤波过程。通过经过优化的放大倍数无需在所采集图像中进行空间频移即可获得具有较少伪像的可靠成像。维纳滤波器有时在图像处理中用于去卷积。但是,维纳滤波器有时会形成伪像,从而降低了图像数据的可靠性。

OSR处理,是一种对共聚焦荧光显微镜截止频率附近逐渐减弱的高频信号,进行空间放大的空间频率滤波器(称OSR滤波器)。这样可以获得更少伪像的更好分辨率。图3a比较了OSR和维纳滤波器在每个空间频率处的放大系数。可以确认OSR滤波器不会过度放大中频分量,并且会充分放大接近截止频率的分量。

图3b和3c比较了将OSR滤波器应用于对应瑞利标准针孔尺寸的共焦荧光显微镜图像之前和之后的PSF和光学传递函数(OTF)。其证实了通过OSR处理可以实现比宽视场荧光显微镜高出两倍的分辨率。 

图3.还原型滤波器的特性及其影响(a),滤波器的形状(b),PSF(c)和显示频率特性的OTF。

WF(2X):具有2倍截止频率的虚拟曲线

图3. OSR滤波器和维纳滤波器的特征及其影响。(a)滤波器的形状。(b)PSF。(c)OTF。
 

图4比较了应用OSR和维纳滤波器后的成像仿真结果。通过比较应用OSR滤波器(图4c)和应用维纳滤波器(图4d)后的图像,可以看出,与使用维纳滤波器相比,应用OSR滤波器后图像中对象附近的伪影更少。生物样品的IXplore SpinSR图像,即固定细胞中肌动蛋白丝,如图5所示。激发波长为488 nm,并使用了奥林巴斯UPLSAPO100XS物镜。IXplore SpinSR系统在应用OSR滤波器之前,应用OSR滤波器之后,以及应用维纳滤波器取代OSR滤波器所获取的图像分别如图5a、5b和5c所示。OSR滤波器与维纳滤波器一样可以提高图像分辨率,并且更进一步减少伪像并保持较高的信噪比。因此,OSR处理可用于实时成像和生物样品的定量分析。

图4.(a)成像分辨率的结果。共聚焦荧光显微镜成像(b);使用OSR滤波器的图像(c);使用维纳滤波器(d)的图像。

图4. 成像分辨率的模拟结果。(a)对象。(b)通过共聚焦荧光显微镜成像。(c)使用OSR滤波器的图像。(d)使用维纳滤波器的图像。
 

图5.固定细胞中肌动蛋白丝的荧光图像。肌动蛋白丝使用Alexa488染色。(a)通过IXplore SpinSR系统获取的共聚焦荧光图像; (b)使用OSR滤波器对(a)高亮部分的放大图像; (c)使用维纳滤波器对(a)高亮部分的放大图像。

图5. 固定细胞中肌动蛋白丝的荧光图像。(a)通过IXplore SpinSR系统捕捉的共聚焦荧光图像。 (b,c)使用OSR滤波器(b)和维纳滤波器(c)对(a)高亮部分的放大图像。
 

荧光微球(Φ100nm)和染色核孔的图像示例如图6和7所示。这些也表明OSR滤波器可以实现高可靠性和高信噪比,表明IXplore SpinSR系统的超分辨率技术适用于活细胞成像。5

图6.IXplore SpinSR系统捕捉的荧光微球(Φ100nm)超分辨率图像和相应强度分布图。 src=

图6. IXplore SpinSR系统捕捉的荧光微球(Φ100 nm)超分辨率图像和相应强度分布图。
 

图7.固定细胞中染色核孔的荧光图像:(a)使用OSR的IXplore SpinSR系统图像和共聚焦显微镜图像(b)。

图7. 固定细胞中染色核孔的荧光图像。IXplore SpinSR系统的共聚焦图像(a)和OSR图像(b)。
 

光学系统

IXplore SpinSR系统由物镜、成像透镜、用于放大的光学系统、共聚焦转盘和sCMOS相机组成(图8)。引入共聚焦转盘中的激发激光通过微透镜阵列形成许多激发点。之后,光线穿过二向色镜和与微透镜阵列每个焦点匹配的针孔 。通过针孔后,将光束尺寸通过光学调节为物镜的瞳径,然后通过1/4波长板(λ/ 4板)。平行光通过成像透镜后,会转换为很多激发点,并通过物镜照射样品引发荧光。荧光使用相同的物镜检测,但沿与激发光相反的方向移动。然后,通过用于放大的光学系统和相应针孔形成荧光斑。由二向色镜反射的荧光斑在相机上形成图像。

用于放大的光学系统可在共聚焦观察和超分辨率观察之间切换。超分辨率模式可优化荧光检测过程中投射在针孔上的荧光斑大小(图8a),并扩大激发光束填充物镜的光瞳(图8b)。在共聚焦观察中,中间成像平面以相应放大倍数投射在样品表面上,从而实现与18.8视场数(FN)对应的宽视场共聚焦成像。 

图8.设备组件的结构。根据用途切换光学放大系统。为使用OSR进行观察,使用了可优化针孔大小并占据物镜整个光瞳的放大系统。对于共聚焦观察,使用了可在更宽视场范围内进行观察的放大系统。

图8. 设备组件的结构。根据用途切换光学放大系统。为使用OSR进行观察,使用了可优化针孔大小并占据物镜整个光瞳的放大系统。对于共聚焦观察,使用了可在更宽视场范围内进行观察的放大系统。
 

带有光学放大系统的IXplore SpinSR能够实现更高的视场平场性。其通过连接显微镜的光学系统与共聚焦转盘装置尽可能减小像差。图9显示为16个相邻荧光图像(4垂直×4水平)的拼接图像。图9b和9a分别为通过为IXplore SpinSR设计的系统以及常规系统获得的图像。在通过常规系统获得的图像中,在荧光图像接合点附近观察到网格状强度分布,同时强度降低。相比之下,为IXplore SpinSR设计的系统具有没有伪影的较高平场性,这表明光学放大系统针对IXplore SpinSR系统光学性能进行的优化达到整个视场的外围。

图9.与光学放大系统连接的系统,经过优化(a)与未优化(b)所获得25张(5垂直×5水平)相邻荧光图像拼接出的图像。

图9. 将16幅(4个垂直×4个水平)相邻荧光图像拼接的图像。每个荧光图像都是通过为IXplore SpinSR设计的系统(b)和常规系统(a)捕捉的。
 

λ/4板将激发激光的线性偏振转换为圆偏振,从而在X和Y方向上获得等效分辨率。否则,线性偏振光会在X和Y方向上形成具有不同半峰全宽的衍射极限光斑,从而形成椭圆形激发光斑(图10中的插图)。使用UPLSAPO100XS物镜可以观察到X和Y方向之间的差异超过20%,如图10所示。通过集成λ/ 4板将线性偏振光转换为圆偏振光,可以观察到不会变形的精细结构。至于检测方面,从样品发射的随机偏振荧光不受λ/4板的影响。

图10.采用(左)和不采用(右)偏振光控制的荧光微球(Φ100 nm)荧光图像。

图10. 采用线性偏振(a)和圆偏振(b)的荧光微球(Φ 100 nm)荧光图像。插图为模拟激发点。
 

结论

我们的奥林巴斯超分辨率(OSR)技术和优化光学设计能够实现120 nm的空间分辨率。这是对受限于200 nm空间分辨率常规宽视场显微镜的一种改进。不使用空间频移以及对象形状估计的图像处理可获得高度可靠的结果。我们认为,这项技术对于研究分子动力学很有用,而这一领域是迄今为止尚未明确的潜在应用。

附录
转盘上每个共聚焦针孔的微透镜可让您以较低的激光功率成像,从而减少了样品的光致漂白和光毒性,同时还能获得明亮的超分辨率图像2 。在常规共聚焦显微镜中,图像形成是照明点扩散函数(PSF)和检测PSF的乘积。光轴D位置针孔处的图像形成是照度PSF与检测PSF的乘积,我们可以看到,光轴上D/2位置的信息已传输但未解析。为解决这个问题,可将微透镜安装在针孔中,并将投射到针孔上的各焦点通过光学方式重新分配到中心,以此创建理想图像并提高亮度和分辨率6-8 。该过程让分辨率几乎与针孔缩减到最小尺寸的理想共聚焦显微镜分辨率相同。

附图1.带SoRa转盘的SpinSR原理和配置

附图1.带SoRa转盘的CSU-W1原理和配置

附图1. 带SoRa转盘的SpinSR原理和配置

作者
Yasuo Yonemaru博士
光学系统开发
研发部
奥林巴斯公司

参考文献

  1. J.Lopez等人“针对共聚焦图像增强的去卷积革命”,BioOptics World,55,第01期,第85-88页,2019年1月。
  2. T. Azuma和T. Kei,“采用光子重分配的超高分辨率转盘共聚焦显微镜”,Opt.Express, 23 (11),第15003–15011页,2015年。
  3. (白皮书)A. Samuelsson,“硅油浸没物镜满足对更高分辨率的要求”,(https://www.olympus-lifescience.com/resources/white-papers/silicone_immersion_objectives_for_higher_resolution/)
  4. S. Hayashi,“使用共聚焦显微镜达到类似结构照明显微技术将分辨率提高一倍”,Jpn.J. Appl.Phys., 55 (8), 082501, 2016.
  5. S. Hayashi和Y. Okada,“使用转盘共聚焦显微镜光学器件实现超快超分辨率荧光成像”,Mol.Bio.Cell, 26 (9),第1743–1751页,2015年。
  6. CJR Sheppard,“共聚焦成像中的超分辨率”,Optik, 50,第53-54页,1988年。
  7. C. B. Müller和J. Enderlein,“图像扫描显微技术”,Phys.Rev. Lett.,104, 198101, 2010. 
  8. A. G. York等人。“通过模拟图像处理对活细胞和胚胎进行即时超分辨率成像”,Nat. Methods, 10,第1122-1126页,2013。

对不起,此内容在您的国家不适用。

相关产品
适合所有活细胞样本的共聚焦超高分辨

IXplore SpinSR

  • 超高分辨率,分辨率可达 120nm XY
  • 因光毒性和光漂白降低,共聚焦延时成像期间的细胞存活时间变长
  • 在 IXplore SpinSR 系统中,只需一步即可在宽场、共聚焦和超高分辨率观察之间自由切换
  • 通过奥林巴斯硅油浸入式物镜可以实现准确的 3D 重建

Not Available in Your Country
How Olympus Super Resolution and Spinning Disk Technology Achieves Fast, Deep, and Reliable Live Cell Super Resolution Imaging

Introduction

In the decades following the discovery of fluorescent proteins, live cell imaging has become an indispensable tool for the investigation of intracellular functions inside tissues and cells in the field of life science research. Today, various super resolution microscopy techniques are advancing fluorescence imaging even further. Super resolution imaging is attracting attention as a revolutionary tool in the life science field because it enables the observation of fine structures that are less than 200 nm (nm=10-9 m) in size, an imaging performance that is unattainable using a conventional optical microscope. However, applying super resolution microscopy techniques to live cell imaging is limited because of time resolution and phototoxicity issues. In addition, the reliability (quantitative performance) of imaging data is also a significant concern because image processing including estimation or spatial frequency shift can form artifacts that corrupt results.1

In response, Olympus has developed the super resolution IXplore SpinSR system for live cell super resolution imaging. This system utilizes super resolution components as well as the optical sectioning capability of confocal fluorescence microscopes. The IXplore SpinSR system simultaneously achieves high reliability, fast image acquisition, low phototoxicity, and deep tissue observation, which cannot be done using conventional methods. Data reliability is ensured owing to our Olympus Super Resolution (OSR) technology. Based on optical theory, our OSR processing algorithms are capable of obtaining a spatial resolution of 120 nm, providing highly reliable results below the diffraction limit. Fast image acquisition is achieved using the spinning disk confocal microscope technique. Using super resolution SoRa disk technology2, phototoxicity is also reduced to 30% of conventional techniques. Deep tissue observation is achieved using silicone immersion objectives3 and through the optical sectioning capability of confocal microscopes.

In this paper, we will explain the principles behind Olympus Super Resolution (OSR) technology and the optical design of the IXplore SpinSR system.
 

What Is Super Resolution?

The spatial resolution of a fluorescence microscope (δr ) is defined as the minimum resolvable distance between two small points. According to the Rayleigh criterion, this resolution is expressed by Equation 1.

Equation 1

The resolution δr is obtained from an intensity distribution formed by a single fluorescent point on the imaging plane. This intensity distribution is known as the point spread function (PSF). As shown in figure 1, if the distance between two points is less than Rayleigh criterion δr , two points cannot be separately identified. When the distance is at the Rayleigh criterion, the intensity between two points is reduced by 26% at most.

The spread of the PSF depends on the cutoff frequency, and they are closely tied to each other. An increase of the cutoff frequency results in a decrease of the value of spatial resolution. The cutoff frequency of fluorescence microscopes ƒc_wf  is shown in Equation 2.

Equation 2

Spatial frequency information of emission intensity distribution is limited by the cutoff frequency ƒc_wf  and transferred to the imaging plane. Therefore, the inverse of the cutoff frequency ƒc_wf  is a theoretical limit of the size of the observable structure. Microscope techniques that go beyond the resolution determined by the cutoff frequency ƒc_wf  in Equation 2 are categorized as super resolution microscopy.

In a confocal fluorescence microscope, the theoretical cutoff frequency is twice than that of a widefield microscope ƒc_wf, resulting in two-times super resolution as a theoretical resolution limit. However, the actual resolution is generally the same as that of a widefield fluorescence microscope because high-frequency signals are weak. While resolution is improved with narrowed pinholes, signal intensity near the cutoff frequency is still low. Therefore, a confocal fluorescence microscope cannot be used as a super resolution microscope.

Figure1.Schematic presentation of two-point resolution

Figure1.Scheme of two-point resolution.
 

Spinning Disk Confocal Fluorescence Microscopy

The IXplore SpinSR system realizes two-fold resolution over widefield fluorescence microscopy by making the best possible use of information around the cutoff frequency of confocaⅼ fluorescence. It also realizes high speed imaging as fast as 200 fps by utilizing spinning disk confocaⅼ fluorescence microscopy.

In confocal fluorescence microscopy, emission fluorescence produced by illuminating samples with excitation light spots passes through pinholes before it reaches the detector. Spatial distribution of detected fluorescence signal is imaged while scanning the excitation light spots via two-dimensional scanning. Confocaⅼ fluorescence microscopy is widely used as a tool to obtain three-dimensional spatial distribution of fluorescence signal because of the optical sectioning capability in the z-dimension.

A spinning disk confocal microscope simultaneously illuminates many excitation light spots and detects the produced fluorescence from each spot in parallel. A rotating confocal disk scans excitation spots while corresponding pinholes on the intermediate imaging plane reduce the out of focus fluorescence. The spatial distribution of the fluorescence signal is then detected by a camera (Figure 2). As shown in the scheme of pinhole array in Figure 2, the distance between pinholes on the confocal disk are large enough to prevent signal crosstalk between pinholes.

The IXplore SpinSR system’s detection sensitivity is improved through scientific complementary metal–oxide–semiconductor (sCMOS) technology. An sCMOS camera has higher quantum efficiency than that of a photoelectric multiplier tube which is widely used in confocal microscopes; therefore, the IXplore SpinSR system’s sCMOS image sensor acquires images with a higher signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) than would be possible with a photomultiplier tube. Using the super resolution SoRa disk, detection loss by confocal pinholes is significantly reduced, and fluorescence is detected at three-times the brightness compared with conventional methods, resulting in low phototoxicity. (See appendix.)

Figure 2. Schematic presentation of the optical system of a spinning disk confocal microscope. (a) Complete structure

Figure 2. Schemes of the optical system of a spinning disk confocal microscope. The confocal disk is set on the intermediate imaging plane. The disk rotates on its center axis while excitation light is irradiated on the blue circular portion. Right scheme shows pinhole array for sample illumination. The pinholes are far enough apart for simultaneous scanning of many excitation spots without interference.
 

Olympus Super Resolution (OSR) Theory

The IXplore SpinSR system improves the detection efficiency of the spatial frequency up to twice the cutoff frequency of widefield fluorescence microscopes, by optimizing the pinhole size.The super resolution image is obtained through OSR processing on the acquired image. OSR is a filtering process that amplifies or attenuates a specific spatial frequency component in the image. Reliable imaging with fewer artifacts can be obtained with the optimized amplification factor without spatial frequency shift in the acquired image. The Wiener filter is sometimes used for deconvolution in image processing. However, the Wiener filter sometimes forms artifacts, decreasing the reliability of image data.

OSR processing uses a spatial frequency filter which amplifies high-frequency components with apodization which gradually attenuates near the confocal fluorescence microscope cutoff frequency (referred to as OSR filter). This results in improved resolution with fewer artifacts. Figure 3a compares the amplification factor at each spatial frequency of both the OSR and the Wiener filters. It confirms that the OSR filter does not over-amplify the medium frequency component, and adequately amplifies the components near the cutoff frequency.

In Figure 3b and 3c, PSFs and optical transfer functions (OTFs) are compared between before and after applying the OSR filter to a confocal fluorescence microscope image with a pinhole size corresponding to the Rayleigh criterion. It confirms that two-times higher resolution than that of widefield fluorescence microscopes is achieved by OSR processing. 

Figure 3. Characteristics of recovery filters and their effects (a), shape of filters (b), PSF  (c), and OTF showing frequency characteristics.

WF(2X): Virtual curve with 2x cut off frequency

Figure 3. Characteristics of OSR filter and a Wiener filter and their effects. (a) Shapes of the filters. (b) PSF. (c) OTF.
 

Imaging simulation results after applying the OSR and the Wiener filters are compared in Figure 4. By comparing the images after applying the OSR filter (Figure 4c) to applying the Wiener filter (Figure 4d), it can be seen that there are fewer artifacts near the object in the images after applying the OSR filter than when using the Wiener filter. IXplore SpinSR images of a biological sample, stained actin filaments in a fixed cell, are shown in Figure 5. The excitation wavelength was 488 nm, and the Olympus UPLSAPO100XS objective was used. Images acquired by the IXplore SpinSR system before applying the OSR filter, after applying the OSR filter, and applying the Wiener filter instead of the OSR filter are shown in Figures 5a, 5b, and 5c respectively. The OSR filter improves the image resolution as much as the Wiener filter while reducing artifacts and maintaining a higher SNR. Therefore, OSR processing can be useful for live imaging and quantitative analysis of biological samples.

Figure 4. Results of imaging resolution of an (a) object. Image by confocal fluorescence microscope (b); image with the OSR filter (c); image with a Wiener filter (d).

Figure 4. Simulated results of imaging resolution. (a) Object. (b) Image by confocal fluorescence microscope. (c) Image with the OSR filter. (d) Image with a Wiener filter.
 

Figure 5. Fluorescence images of stained actin filaments in a fixed cell. The actin filaments are stained by Alexa488. (a) Confocal fluorescence image acquired by the IXplore SpinSR system; (b) magnified image of the highlighted portion (a) with the OSR filter; (c) image of the highlighted portion (a) with a Wiener filter.

Figure 5. Fluorescence images of stained actin filaments in a fixed cell. (a) Confocal fluorescence image acquired by the IXplore SpinSR system.  (b,c) Magnified image of the highlighted portion (a) with the OSR filter (b), with a Wiener filter (c).
 

As other examples, images of fluorescent beads (Φ100 nm)and stained nuclear pores are shown in Figures 6 and 7. They also indicate that the OSR filter can achieve high reliability and a high SNR, which suggests that the IXplore SpinSR system’s super resolution technique is suitable for live cell imaging.5

Figure 6. Super resolution image of fluorescent beads (Φ100 nm) acquired by the IXplore SpinSR system and a corresponding intensity profile.

Figure 6. Super resolution image of fluorescent beads (Φ100 nm) acquired by the IXplore SpinSR system and a corresponding intensity profile.
 

Figure 7. Fluorescence image of a stained nuclear pore in a fixed cell: (a) image by the IXplore SpinSR system with OSR and an image (b) by a confocal microscope.

Figure 7. Fluorescence images of stained nuclear pores in a fixed cell. Confocal image (a) and OSR image (b) by the IXplore SpinSR system.
 

Optical System

The IXplore SpinSR system is composed of an objective, imaging lens, optical system for magnification, confocal spinning disk, and an sCMOS camera (Figure 8). Excitation laser light introduced into the confocal spinning disk forms many excitation light spots by an array of microlenses. The light then passes through a dichroic mirror and pinholes arranged to match each focal point of the microlens array. After passing through the pinholes, the beam size is optically adjusted to the pupil diameter of the objective and then passes through a 1/4 wavelength plate (λ/4 plate). Parallel light, after passing through the imaging lens, is transformed into many excitation spots and illuminates the sample through the objective, resulting in the induction of fluorescence. Fluorescence light is detected by the same objective but moves in the opposite direction of the excitation light. Then, fluorescent spots are formed by passing through the optical system for magnification and the corresponding pinholes. The fluorescence spots, reflected by the dichroic mirror, form an image on the camera.

The optical system for magnification is used for switching between confocal observation and super resolution observation. In super resolution mode, the size of fluorescent spots projected on the pinholes during fluorescence detection is optimized (Figure 8a), and the excitation beam is expanded to fill the objective’s pupil (Figure 8b). In confocal observation, the intermediate imaging plane is projected on the sample surface at unit magnification, allowing confocal imaging with a wide field of view corresponding to a field number (FN) of 18.8. 

Figure 8. Structure of equipment’s components. Optical system for magnification is switched depending on the purpose. For observation using OSR, the magnification system that optimizes pinhole size and occupies the full pupil of the objective is used. For confocal observation, the magnification system that enables observation across a wider field of view is used.

Figure 8. Structure of equipment’s components. Optical system for magnification is switched depending on the purpose. For observation using OSR, the magnification system that optimizes pinhole size and occupies the full pupil of the objective is used. For confocal observation, the magnification system that enables observation across a wider field of view is used.
 

IXplore SpinSR with the optical system for magnification enables high field flatness. It is designed for minimizing aberration by connecting the microscope’s optical system and the confocal spinning disk unit. Stitched images of 16 adjacent fluorescence images (4 vertical × 4 horizontal) are shown in Figure 9. Figures 9b and 9a are images obtained by system designed for IXplore SpinSR and general system, respectively. In the image obtained by the general system, grid-like intensity distribution are observed near the junctions of the small fluorescence images, accompanied by decreased intensity. In contrast, the system designed for IXplore SpinSR provides high flatness without artifacts, indicating that the magnification optical system is optimized for the optical performance of the IXplore SpinSR system up to the peripheral part of the field.

Figure 9. An image in which 25 (5 vertical × 5 horizontal) neighboring fluorescence images are stitched together acquired by systems in which the connection with the optical system for magnification is optimized (a) and unoptimized (b).

Figure 9. Images in which 16 (4 vertical × 4 horizontals) neighboring fluorescence images are stitched together. Each fluorescence image is acquired by system designed for IXplore SpinSR (b) and general system (a).
 

The λ/4 plate transforms linear polarization of excitation laser light to circular polarization to obtain an equivalent resolution in both the X and Y directions. Otherwise linearly polarized light forms diffraction limited spots with a different full-width half-maximum value in the X and Y directions, resulting in the formation of oval-shaped excitation light spots (insets in Figure 10). Using the UPLSAPO100XS objective, more than 20% difference between X and Y directions would be observed as shown in Figure 10. Transformation of linearly polarized light to circularly polarized light by the integrated λ/4 plate enables observation of fine structures without distortion. As for the detection side, randomly polarized fluorescence light emitted from samples is not effected by the λ/4 plate.

Figure 10. Fluorescence image of fluorescent beads (Φ 100 nm) with (left) and without (right) polarized light control.

Figure 10. Fluorescence images of fluorescent beads (Φ 100 nm) with linear polarization (a) and with circular polarization (b). Insets are simulated excitation spots.
 

Conclusion

Our Olympus Super Resolution (OSR) technology and optimized optical design enable us to achieve a spatial resolution of 120 nm. This is an improvement over the conventional widefield microscope, which was limited to a spatial resolution of 200 nm. Image processing without spatial frequency shift nor estimation of object shape provides highly reliable results. We believe that this technology is useful for investigating molecular dynamics, which is a potential application that had not been clarified until now.

Appendix
Each confocal pinhole on the disk has a microlens that enables you to image with lower laser power, reducing photobleaching and phototoxicity in your sample while enabling bright super resolution images2. In regular confocal microscopes, image formation is a product of the illumination point spread function (PSF) and detection PSF. Looking at the image formation on the pinhole at position D from the optical axis, it’s the product of the illumination PSF and detection PSF, and we can see that information from position D/2 from the optical axis is transmitted but not resolved. To correct this, a microlens is fitted in the pinhole, and the individual focal points projected onto the pinhole are optically reassigned to the center, creating an ideal image and increasing the brightness and resolution6. This process makes the resolution nearly equal to that of an ideal confocal microscope in which the pinhole has been reduced to an infinitesimal size.

Appended figure 1. Principle and cofiguration of SpinSR with SoRa disk

Appended figure 1. Principle and cofiguration of CSU-W1 with SoRa disk

Appended figure 1. Principle and cofiguration of SpinSR with SoRa disk

Author
Dr. Yasuo Yonemaru
Optical System Development
Research and Development
Olympus Corporation

References

  1. J. Lopez, et al. “A deconvolution revolution for confocal image enhancement”, BioOptics World, 55, Issue 01, pp. 85–88, January 2019.
  2. T. Azuma and T. Kei, "Super-resolution spinning-disk confocal microscopy using optical photon reassignment", Opt. Express, 23 (11), pp. 15003–15011, 2015.
  3.  (White Paper) A. Samuelsson, “Silicone Immersion Objectives Answer the Call for Higher Resolution”, (https://www.olympus-lifescience.com/resources/white-papers/silicone_immersion_objectives_for_higher_resolution/)
  4. S. Hayashi, "Resolution doubling using confocal microscopy via analogy with structured illumination microscopy", Jpn. J. Appl. Phys., 55 (8), 082501, 2016.
  5. S. Hayashi and Y. Okada, "Ultrafast superresolution fluorescence imaging with spinning disk confocal microscope optics", Mol. Bio. Cell, 26 (9), pp. 1743–1751, 2015.
  6. C. J. R. Sheppard, “Super-resolution in confocal imaging”, Optik, 50, pp. 53-54, 1988.

对不起,此内容在您的国家不适用。

相关产品
适合所有活细胞样本的共聚焦超高分辨

IXplore SpinSR

  • 超高分辨率,分辨率可达 120nm XY
  • 因光毒性和光漂白降低,共聚焦延时成像期间的细胞存活时间变长
  • 在 IXplore SpinSR 系统中,只需一步即可在宽场、共聚焦和超高分辨率观察之间自由切换
  • 通过奥林巴斯硅油浸入式物镜可以实现准确的 3D 重建

This site uses cookies to enhance performance, analyze traffic, and for ads measurement purposes. If you do not change your web settings, cookies will continue to be used on this website. To learn more about how we use cookies on this website, and how you can restrict our use of cookies, please review our Cookie Policy.

OK